The best coaches around: CaptainU’s Spring 2014 College Coaches of the Year


SAN FRANCISCO, Calif., Jun. 10th, 2014 – CaptainU today announced its Spring 2014 CaptainU College Coaches of the Year. Top coaches in each sport and division were chosen for their teams’ inspiring and successful performances on and off the field.


• Tony Robichaux – University of Louisiana – Lafayette (Division I)
• Tracy Archuleta – University of Southern Indiana (Division II)
• John Vodenlich – University of Wisconsin – Whitewater (Division III)

Men’s Golf

• Jay Seawell – University of Alabama (Division I)
• Ryan Jamison – Nova Southeastern University (Division II)
• Ron & Anna Macosko – Schreiner University (Division III)

Women’s Golf

• Dan Brooks – Duke University (Division I)
• Amy White – Arkansas Tech University (Division II)
• Mike Clary – Rhodes College (Division III)

Men’s Lacrosse

• John Danowski – Duke University (Division I)
• John Jez – Long Island University Post (Division II)
• Jeff Shirk – Washington College (Division III)

Women’s Lacrosse

• Gary Gait – Syracuse University (Division I)
• Rob Grella – Adelphi University (Division II)
• Jim Nestor – Salisbury University (Division III)


• Mike Teti – University of California Berkeley (Division I)
• Adrian Spracklen – Mercyhurst University (Division II)
• Aaron Benson – University of Puget Sound (Division III)


• Tim Walton – University of Florida (Division I)
• Kevin Blaskowski – West Texas A&M (Division II)
• Cheryl Milligan – Tufts University (Division III)

Men’s Tennis

• Billy Martin – University of California Los Angeles (DI)
• John Roddick – University of Oklahoma (Division II)
• Paul Settles – Claremont Mudd Scripps College (Division III)

Women’s Tennis

• Roland Thornqvist – University of Florida (Division I)
• Avi Kigel – Barry University (Division II)
• Amy Bryant – Emory University (Division III)

Track & Field

• Robert Johnson – University of Oregon (Division I)
• Rock Light – Adams State University (Division II)
• Bobby Van Allen – Johns Hopkins University (Division III)

Men’s Volleyball

• Dan Friend – Lewis University (NC)
• Radu Petrus – State University of New York – New Paltz (Division III)

Women’s Water Polo

• Brandon Brooks – University of California Los Angeles (NC)

About CaptainU

CaptainU is the largest youth and college sports network. We bridge sports and technology by connecting athletes with all the colleges, teams and events they need to succeed and play at the next level. 750,000 high school athletes, youth sports events, youth coaches, and college coaches use CaptainU to promote themselves and their teams, and to connect with each other.

For more information, please visit

Are you a college coach who needs tools to manage your events and recruits? Sign up for a CaptainU College account today!